About the ISPN

The International Society for Phylogenetic Nomenclature was established to encourage and facilitate the development and use of, and communication about, phylogenetic nomenclature. Toward this end, the ISPN organizes periodic scientific meetings and is overseeing the completion and implementation of a code of rules to govern phylogenetic nomenclature — the PhyloCode.

The ISPN is governed by a Council, of which all members except the Program Director are elected. For more information, see the Bylaws (PDF).

The ISPN maintains two committees whose responsibilities pertain directly to the functioning of the PhyloCode: the Committee on Phylogenetic Nomenclature (CPN) and the Registration Committee. The members of both committees are elected by the ISPN membership.

The CPN is responsible for reviewing and approving changes in the draft PhyloCode, leading to its implementation. After implementation of the code, the CPN will rule on proposals for conservation or suppression of names, resolve ambiguities in the provisions of the code, amend the provisions of the code, and produce future editions of it.

The Registration Committee is responsible for managing the online registration database for names governed by the PhyloCode.

Anyone who is interested in phylogenetic nomenclature is encouraged to join the ISPN.

The Society welcomes donations!

Members of the ISPN Council

List per year as a PDF file: Download


Kevin de Queiroz (Smithsonian Institution),
Philip Cantino (Ohio University),
David Tank (University of Idaho),
Michel Laurin (CNRS, Paris),
Nico Cellinese (University of Florida),
Michael Keesey,

Council Members at Large (by year of term expiration)

Erika Edwards (Brown University),
Thomas Near (Yale University),
Wendy Clement (College of New Jersey),
Torsten Eriksson (University Museum of Bergen),
Pam Soltis (University of Florida),
Micah Dunthorn (University of Kaiserslautern, Germany),

ISPN Committees

Committee on Phylogenetic Nomenclature (by year of term expiration)

John Hall (University of Maryland),
David Hibbett (Clark University),
David Marjanović (Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin),
Greg Rouse (University of California, San Diego),
Sina Adl (University of Saskatchewan),
Philip Cantino (Ohio University),
Nico Cellinese (University of Florida),
Michel Laurin (CNRS, Paris),
Kevin de Queiroz (Smithsonian Institution),
Richard Olmstead (University of Washington),
George Sangster (Swedish Museum of Natural History),
Mieczysław Wolsan (Polish Academy of Sciences),

Registration Committee

Nico Cellinese (Florida Museum of Natural History),
Michael Keesey,
William Piel (Yale University),